Co-Technical Sponsors

       Greetings from the DySPAN 2008 Technical Program Co-Chairs

     The IEEE DySPAN event was conceived to bring together experts from technology, policy, economics and legal domain to discuss diverse aspects of effectively and efficiently using valuable radio spectrum. IEEE DySPAN 2008, now the third installment of this event, mirrors the world-wide growth in research in these topics. We are happy to report that the "intent-to-submit" phase recorded ~270 abstracts and resulted in 202 final valid submissions. This represented a phenomenal growth of at least 35% in the number of submissions from the last event. 
     The technical program committee (TPC) we put together consisted of 62 well-known leaders from all parts of the world. This committee collected well over 600 reviews for the received submissions and discussed them in a day-long meeting on 7 August 2008 in Washington, DC.  We selected 54 high quality technical papers that span the broad range of topics in DSA and cognitive networks to form the core technical program of the conference covering 2.5 days. We also selected 22 short papers that will be presented in the interactive poster sessions. This year, we have also given paper presenters the opportunity to participate in poster sessions to benefit from the increased interaction in these sessions.
     We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the authors for submitting high quality research manuscripts to IEEE DySPAN 2008. Our special thanks go to our dedicated technical program committee members and numerous reviewers who invested their valuable time in evaluating the submitted manuscripts and in creating the fantastic technical program. We hope that all of the participants of IEEE DySPAN 2008 will enjoy this program as well as the other conference events and the city of Chicago!
                   Preston Marshall                          Milind Buddhikot