Co-Technical Sponsors



A limited number of Student Travel Grants have been made available through the IEEE Communications Society for highly qualified individuals.  Please follow the instructions listed below to apply for a ComSoc Student Travel Grant.  Application closing date is September 26, 2008.

     a.     Logs into their EDAS account on  <http://edas.info/> http://edas.info

     b.     Selects tab "Travel Grants"

     c.     Select the student travel grant of DySPAN'08

     d.     Specifies the recommender's email address or EDAS ID

     e.     Hits "Apply for Grant"

If you have additional questions, please contact Diane Williams at d.williams@comsoc.org <mailto:d.williams@comsoc.org



We have acquired a grant from the National Science Foundation to help increase the representation and participation of graduate students in the DySPAN 2008 conference. Eligibility is limited to graduate students currently active in the graduate program of accredited institutions in the United States. Preference for grants will be given to students who satisfy one or more of the following criteria:

♦Student authors of papers/posters submitted and included in the program

♦Student authors of papers/posters submitted but not included in the program

♦Student co-authors of accepted papers/posters who are not making the presentation at
the conference

♦Students in early stages of their studies without alternate means of support

A goal of the travel grant program is to encourage participation in the DySPAN 2008 conference by students that would normally find it difficult to attend. Women and minorities are encouraged to apply.

Grant Benefits

The grant may be used to cover the following expenses:

1.ــ Economy airfare (up to $450.00)
2.ــ Lodging (up to three nights at $150.00 per night)
3.ــ Per-diem ($50.00 per day for up to three days)
4.ــ Conference registration

The grant will cover up to a maximum of US $600.00. The grant is intended to defray but not necessarily completely cover the expenses of the trip. Students are encouraged to seek additional funds.

Travel Grant Applications

An application for a travel award will consist of:

1.ــ A letter from the student.
2.ــ The student's vita.
3.ــ A supporting letter from the student's graduate advisor.

The letter from the student should include:

1.ــ A brief summary of research interests and accomplishments to date.
2.ــ A description of areas reflected in the DySPAN 2008 program that would impact the
ـــــ student's research.
3.ــ A statement about why the conference attendance is important to the student.
4.ــ The title of submitted paper/poster.

The advisor's recommendation letter to the committee should include:

1.ــ Confirmation that the student is a bona-fide Ph.D. or M.S. candidate in good standing.
2.ــ The suitability of the DySPAN 2008 program material to the student's research area.
3.ــ Ways this particular student would benefit from attendance at the conference.
4.ــ The strengths and potential contributions of the student.

Decision Procedure and Criteria

A deadline of September 10, 2008 has been set for the receipt of applications for an NSF grant. The applications should be sent via email (preferably as PDFs) to Professor Xin Liu dyspan08@cs.ucdavis.edu.ـ A selection committee consisting of members of the DySPAN Technical and Policy Committees will choose award recipients. The committee will seek input from members of the Technical and Policy Program Committees during the decision process. A target notification date has been set for Sept. 25, 2008. Recipients will be required to accept the award by Sept. 30, 2008, so that alternates can be notified in the event that a recipient declines. The University of California, Davis, will handle the financial payments. The travel award will be handled via reimbursements. For any expense that is covered, a receipt is required (e.g., airfare, meals, conference and hotel receipts). The reimbursement will be sent as a check via mail six to eight weeks after receipt of reimbursement forms. Reimbursement details will be sent to award recipients.